Reading Strategies

I wrote this a little while ago.

https://www.smore.com/app/pages/preview/w35n

Where I talk about how what was done on paper before can be transferred electronically and still be used.  One on the excellent document that exists on paper what we still need to use, whether we read paper books or electronic books are reading strategies.  Even while reading online, students still need to have good reading strategies.

I use the reading strategies by Lori Oczkus.  They are:  Predict, Question, Clarify, Summarize.  I have translated the posters in French and created a PDF document.  The document is stored on my iPad library.  It does look like a book.  Any self-created document can be stored as PDF on the IPad.  I use the physical posters, displayed on my blackboard, but more captivating for my students are the PDFs on my iPad.

While I teach the reading strategies, students make their own connections to the reading and also to the pictures on the posters.  Predict has a crystal ball, Question has some question marks, Clarify has a magnifying glass and Summarize a folder with a picture of a book.  My students were quite amazed by the pictures.  When I explained Predict to my grade 3 students, one student made a connection to his plasma ball that looks like the crystal ball.  He asked to bring it the next day.  It was quite interesting to see the plasma.  Others were interested in the magnifying glass that I am currently using with my other class.  They are able to make a hands-on connection to their reading that could possibly make learning much easier and more concrete.  It also has the advantage of bringing science concepts into the reading.  This includes more learners.

 

 

http://www.amazon.ca/Reciprocal-Teaching-Work-K-12-Comprehension/dp/0872075079/ref=sr_1_8?ie=UTF8&qid=1380318116&sr=8-8&keywords=oczkus

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *