Learning a foreign language

In Canada, we are encouraged to learn English and French since they are Canadian official languages.  For travelling purposes, there are many other languages we can learn.  I personally learned some Spanish and some Arabic.  With my twitter account, I can learn and follow what is happening in those part of the world in the original language.  It is good for learning a language but also for critical thinking since I can listen to the perspective of others in the world, in their own language.

I have seen on twitter some tools being suggested.

http://lifehacker.com/five-best-language-learning-tools-1448103513

I personally recommend Rosetta Stone for learning a new foreign language.

http://www.rosettastone.ca/

I have used it in the past and found it effective, not only with me but with teenagers as well.  Using pictures makes it possible to learn with immersion in the language as opposed to learning with translations.  There are several exercises that can supplement the learning.  It is quite fun to use.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *